“‘It’s a little lonely in the desert’ the Little Prince said, ‘it is also lonely among men’ the snake said.”

And so the book reached its middle and my heart reached its end, slowly crumbling into aches and pains. I breathe, it’s only a story and the Little Prince will soon return to his former glory. If only it didn’t have to end so painfully. For you see, I knew what was coming, and I knew that the tiny child with big eyes and strong heart would visit the snake one more time.

And then he would be no more.

And then he would be returned. Home.

“Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup  of sorrow be taken from me.” (Matthew 26:39)

And just the same, the book reached its middle and my heart reached its end, slowly crumbling into aches and pains.

I breathe…

I flip back to the beginning, hoping that this time through the story won’t end in death, “In the beginning…” the story goes “…God created…” and then I ask where I fit in.

‘Who am I to you God?’

It is all one great burden and it doesn’t seem to end.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.”

I carry burdens, we all carry burdens. Words that we or others have laid on our heads and hung around our necks. Words of failure, shame, anger, despondency, guilt…bitters that cut down.
But He replaces them with words of grace, peace, love, joy, kindness. “In the beginning God created…”

And our struggle has an end. We don’t get to sin for forever, we don’t get to break under our burdens always. It will end [it has ended]. There is period at the end of the sentence.

“What makes the desert beautiful,” said the Little Prince, “is that somewhere it hides a well.”

Easter is coming

“Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us this well…?”
Jesus answered, “…Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:15-16)

And once upon a time there was a garden, and in this garden there was beauty, created of course. That which was created remained there amongst the wildflowers until, one frightening day, it was corrupted.

“The Lord God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, cursed are you more than all cattle, more than every beast of the field; on your belly you will go, and dust you shall eat all the days of your life.” (Gen 3:14)

“You want to know what I say when something frightens me?”

“Yes”

“I say the magic words, I say ‘Googly, googly, googly, be gone.'” (The Fall, 2006*)

“The solders twisted together a crown of thorns and pushed it onto His head. They clothed Him in a purple robe and went up to Him again and again saying, ‘Hail, King of the Jews!’ and they slapped Him.” (John 19)

“I don’t like this story.” (*)

“The Jewish Leaders insisted, “We have a law, and according to that law he must die, because He claimed to be the Son of God.” (John 19:8)

“I don’t like this story! Why are you killing everybody? Why are you making everybody die?”(*) 

“Carrying His own cross, He went out to the place of the skull. There they crucified Him… Jesus said, “It is finished” and with that He gave up His spirit” (John 19:17 & 30)

“Because everybody must die in the end.”(*)

“Why? What crime has He committed?” Asked Pilate. But they shouted all the louder, “Crucify Him!” (Matt 27:22)

“It’s my story.” [He Said]  “but it’s mine too.” [She cried] (*) 

…And so the book reached its middle and my heart reached its end, slowly crumbling into aches and pains. I breathe because I know what’s coming and I know what I know. And I know it’s more than just a story.

And Easter is coming.

 

